From start to finish tutorial :: silk screens.

 Today I would like to show you my start to finish course using Far, far Away‚ kits. In this tutorial I show in how many different ways you can use your silkscreens from the JanuaryMagic Carpet‚ add-on. I also added a little tip how to create a title using fabulous ‚Mia‚ (or ‚Alyra’) alpha stamps.


DSC06411
Let’s begin. First of all we have to prepare all basic supplies like papers,embellishments, Color Theory acrylic paint, ink pads, stamps and a photo – of course.


Talking about the photo – this little lady on a picture… adorable, isn’t she? This is Jane, beloved daughter of our fabulous Paige Evens🙂 She ‚borrowed’ me this picture to scrap when I wrote on her Instagram how inspired I am looking at these amazing colours.


DSC06415
OK – coming back to the point. I cuted 12×12 ombre paper to the A4 format – this is one of my favourites lately. I decided to use this outstanding ‚+’ silk screen and white acrylic paint to create a background pattern. This is easy. As you already know you don’t need anything more than acrylic paint (or gesso), a piece of thick cardboard or an old credit card or a palette knive. Just stick the silk screen into the place of your choice (I chose the edge between green and white area in the centre of ombre) and spread the paint.


DSC06417
I repeated it for a few times becasue my intention was to blend both sides of the background.


DSC06421
During this time when the backgournd is drying we can create an extraordinary embellishment using the second ‚shine’ silk screen. I took a piece of white cardboard (I think that it was a piece of paper from the stamp’s pack…) and my favourite acrylic ‚Sunny Day‚ paint. I repeat the same action – stick the silk screen to the background, spread the paint, remove the screen from the paper and clean it immediately. I think this is very important to clean the screens just after use becasue than you can be sure that all of these little holes will be clean, and if they will be clean than your prints will be better, cleaner and sharper. So take care of your silk screens, they deserve to be clean🙂

DSC06452


OK, the background and the embellishment are ready, how we can use the third ‚HELLO’ screen? I think that the perfect way is to use it as a title! Yes, I think this is a good idea and I recommend you to try this technique on a layout, however this time, I decided to create a different title for my project. In my cretive team box I received the fabulous ‚Mia’ alpha stamp, when I saw it I knew that I have to use it somewhere. I decided to use it on this layout and I knew that I want to get bright, yellow letters. Usually it’s impossible to stamp yellow motives on a dark surface and keep them bright, so my first thought was to stamps it on a white cardboard.

DSC06424


And that’s what I did. I stamped my title on a white paper (so sorry for these ugly pictures but durign winter months in Poland it’s dark in the afternoon, so I used an artificial light).

DSC06428


Next I contoured the letters using thin, black precision pen
… and I cuted all these letters separately using tiny, precision scissors.

little Jane 2


I started to stick the photo and other elements to the background.

DSC06436


During the combining process I thought that it would be nice if I add a phrase stamp – also from the ‚Magic Carpet‚ scrapbook add-on. Once again – I knew that it won’t be satisfactorily visible on a dark green background so it was a quick decision – I used white embossing powder. I adore to mix various techniques like here – stamping, masking, paint, embossing, layering… the mix of all these actions give a special feeling to the project, especially when you look at it in real life.


little Jane in the rain
This is it. You can check looking at the final layout how I placed the embellishments and how it works together on a surface. I always think about blending elements, I like when everything create one, harmonious totality.
I hope you felt inspired. I think that I show you that you can use three different silk screens in three various ways (and probably far more…). Don’t be affraid. this is not a dirty hobby. I am a mixed-media scrapbooker but believe me – I don’t like dirty hands. You can be mixed-media and clean (and happy). Just take care of your tools and everything will be easy.
I wish you a happy day full of silk screens actions🙂

7 komentarzy to “From start to finish tutorial :: silk screens.”

  1. Hello, Anna, this is a beautiful page. I love what you did with the letters.

  2. love this page ! and love +++ this silk screen ! ♥

  3. loveeee !!!!!! el papel es genial !! un beso Macaliu

  4. lovely…. a beautiful page…

  5. I love this layout and am wondering if the ombre background is a piece of patterned paper or if you created the ombre effect yourself. I have never seen paper like this and I love the effect. If you made it yourself, did you use sprays? I would love to attempt this myself so any help would be appreciated.

    Thank you,
    Joan

Skomentuj

