Acrylic ‚impasto’ technique.

Poet-Society_Header

It’s the day after reveal, how is everyone feeling? Did you get all you want? Hope yes becasue this month’s kits are so awesome! I also added some PL add-ons to my PL subscription 🙂 Lucky me!

impasto technique by Anna-maria

I prepared a quick ‚from start to finish’ tutorial using acrylic paints. I focused on one of the easiest acrylic techniques – impasto. In this technique you smear blobs of paint gently over the surface using palette knife. You can get a cool mix of smoothness and texture using ‚fresh’ a a little dried paint. If you don;t have a palette knives you can also use a piece of thick paper.

DSC05138

First I combined the basic composition – as I always do at the begining of my creative process. Grabbed the embellishments, stamps and tools I will be using during my work (all of these things are coming from the ‚Poet Society’ scrapbook main kit).

DSC05142

Next I spreaded some gesso on the background using palette knive and mixed few acrylic colours with this medium on a palette.

DSC05144

I was adding other layers of paint using palette knife alternately with a dry brush. Dry brushing (it’s also well known acrylic technique) is using paint that is not watered down, but not a lot it. It’s sort of drag the paint over the textured area so you can see some of it break though. So firstly I applied gesso and pale hues of acrylics using palette knife and get the texture. Secondly I covered part of it using a brush. This is how I get this effect from the picture.

DSC05150

Remember that acrylic paints dry rapidly and so you have to work fast if you want to blend the colours. Otherway – they dry fast, so you can aplly multiple layers and don;t waste a lot of time for it 🙂

DSC05152

I started to embellish my page using various ‚Poet Society’ printables (oh, I love them all!!! designed by Marcy Penner, those from Creative Bubble and my fav – by LifeLovePaper), and other elements like rub-ons and stamps from the main scrapbook kit… lots of fancy layers here 🙂

DSC05153

If you have any questions about this tutorial please leave a comment below this post. I will try to answer. Hope you enjoy this quick course.

pretty morning
+     +     +

And I have one more good news for you guys. Studio Calico prepared a special promo for those of you interested in buying new Color Theory ink bundle.

10468098_10204053504605391_8865444019582323070_n

4 Komentarze to “Acrylic ‚impasto’ technique.”

  1. piękny scrap! technikę wykorzystam. 😉

  2. incredible ! love it sooo much !

  3. uuuwielbiam Aniu twoje kursy , zawsze czegoś nowego się dowiaduję i uczę . Będę próbować tej techniki jestem tego pewna!!! PS cuuudne kolorki tych nowych tuszy moje faworyty limonkowy i oberżyna )))

  4. So you mix the acrylic paint with gesso on the palette, is that correct :)?

Dodaj komentarz